Skip to content
Chatbotscape

Best BYOLLM Chatbot Platforms in 2026 — Bring Your Own LLM, Ranked

Quick answer~1 min
Six platforms make our 2026 BYOLLM ranking, and three of them offer the real thing. Typebot ($39/month Starter) is the top pick for SMB teams: fully AI-provider-agnostic, you connect your own OpenAI, Anthropic, or Google API key and pay the provider directly. SendPulse ($12/month Pro) is the cheapest genuine BYOLLM entry: OpenAI, Anthropic Claude, Google Gemini, and DeepSeek each connect on your own key, saved account-wide or set per bot, so usage runs on your provider account. Voiceflow matches that capability with custom-endpoint support and enterprise polish, but its pricing is demo-gated, so self-serve buyers cannot check the bill before a sales call. Botpress ($189/month Plus, monthly-billed) routes across OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, and Hugging Face natively, though inference billing flows through its bundled AI Spend model by default. BotPenguin ($99/month King) and Landbot (€40/month) offer model choice without key ownership. This page ranks by BYOLLM capability and self-serve access, not composite score, which is why SendPulse, the highest-scored platform here at 86/100, sits second behind Typebot's wider any-endpoint, self-hostable setup.
TL;DR~30 sec

"BYOLLM" (bring your own LLM) means connecting your own API key from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, or a self-hosted model to a chatbot platform, so inference bills go to the provider at list price instead of through the vendor's bundled markup. In our reviewed catalog, Typebot is the most open self-serve SMB platform with full BYOLLM ("AI provider agnostic" is verified vendor positioning, not marketing gloss), SendPulse is the cheapest, with four LLM providers on your own keys from its $12/month Pro plan, Voiceflow is the enterprise equivalent with a "bring your own model" custom-endpoint option, and Botpress offers native multi-provider routing with a billing caveat worth reading. Below those four, the honest label shifts from BYOLLM to model choice: BotPenguin lets you pick among four model families at $99/month with vendor-managed billing, and Landbot integrates OpenAI and Gemini by name. Scores come from our 17-dimension reviews, documented at /methodology.

Methodology note~30 sec
Editorial scores are pulled directly from each platform's full Chatbotscape review and reflect our 17-dimension rubric documented at /methodology#scoring-rubric. BYOLLM verdicts follow the Trigger 8 mapping used across our reviews: Strong PRO requires fully end-user-keyed provider integration with direct provider billing; PRO covers native multi-provider integration with vendor-bundled billing; Partial covers named-provider integrations without arbitrary-model support. Pricing follows the cheapest monthly-billed paid tier convention and is carried from each review's vendor-verified pricing ledger.
Data source disclosure
Pricing data
Cheapest monthly-billed paid tier carried from each Tier 1 review's pricing ledger per the pricing methodology at /methodology#pricing. Voiceflow publishes no public tier prices; that gap is stated rather than estimated.
Scoring data
Editorial scores are weighted composites across 17 dimensions covering AI/NLU (15% weight), pricing (12%), channels (10%), integrations (9%), support, security, and platform foundations. Each score is carried over unchanged from the linked Tier 1 review; this page does not recompute scores. The ranking order on this page follows BYOLLM capability and self-serve access, not composite score, and says so wherever the two diverge.
Testing observations
BYOLLM claims were verified against vendor positioning and documentation during each review's verification window, including a hands-on model-swap observation on Typebot (OpenAI to Anthropic on the same flow). SendPulse's own-key setup was re-checked against the vendor's knowledge base on 6 October 2026. Per-platform testing depth is documented in each review's evidence ledger.

The 2026 ranking — 6 platforms for BYOLLM and model choice

Every platform here meets two criteria: model choice is a documented, first-party capability (not a Zapier workaround), and the claim survived our review verification rather than resting on a pricing-page adjective. The ranking runs in three tiers. Ranks 1–3 are true BYOLLM: your key, your provider bill. Rank 4 is native multi-provider routing with bundled billing. Ranks 5–6 are model choice without key ownership — still valuable, but a different promise, and we label it as such.

Four catalog platforms are deliberately absent because their reviews verified the opposite. Manychat (84/100) is fully vendor-managed with no advertised path to connect your own key. Intercom (76/100) runs Fin on its proprietary Fin Apex 1.0 stack and does not disclose the underlying foundation model. Tidio (75/100) names its model — Lyro runs on Anthropic's Claude — but manages the stack itself, with no own-key path. Chatbase (73/100) offers vendor-managed access to OpenAI and Anthropic models with no documented self-serve key option. All four are strong platforms whose reviews we link precisely because their AI is good; they are just not what this page is for. One edge case earns a note rather than a rank: AiSensy (71/100), a WhatsApp-only specialist, documents webhook-mediated BYOLLM for technically equipped customers — OpenAI, Meta LLaMA, Claude, and DeepSeek are named as connectable through its Project APIs — but not as a self-serve toggle, and only on a single channel. WhatsApp-first teams with a tech team should read that review directly.

  1. Best BYOLLM Chatbot Platforms 2026·#1
    Typebot logo

    Typebot

    Best for genuine BYOLLM at a self-serve SMB price

    Strongest:
    Developer experience (95/100) — the strongest DX score in our Tier 1 batch
    From:
    $39/mo Starter (monthly-only billing — no annual option exists); Personal Free covers 200 chats/mo

    The most open BYOLLM platform in our reviewed catalog at a price an SMB can self-serve. Typebot's vendor positioning is "AI provider agnostic," and our review verified it as literal: you plug in your own OpenAI, Anthropic, or Google key, and inference bills go to the provider at list price with no platform markup. In our hands-on testing we swapped providers on the same flow and measured the trade directly — moving OpenAI to Anthropic shifted citation accuracy up 5 points and intent accuracy down 3, an operator-controlled dial no bundled platform exposes. The open-source codebase (10,000 GitHub stars, self-hostable under a Functional Source License) means the exit path is real, and together with HTTP request blocks that reach any HTTP-accessible model endpoint it is why Typebot holds first place over the cheaper SendPulse. Honest caveats from the review: monthly-only billing with no annual discount, a thin aggregator footprint (Capterra 26 reviews), English-only admin UI, and no Meta BSP certification. Full evidence trail in the Typebot review; the build-philosophy contrast with its closest rival is drawn in Landbot vs Typebot.

    Strong fit if

    You want to connect your own OpenAI, Anthropic, or Google API key and pay the provider directly, you embed bots in a modern web stack (React, Next.js, Webflow), or you want the self-host option as leverage.

    Weak fit if

    You need an SMB marketing suite around the bot — broadcasts, ecommerce funnels, a staffed multichannel inbox — or an admin UI in a language other than English.

  2. Best BYOLLM Chatbot Platforms 2026·#2
    SendPulse logo

    SendPulse

    Best for genuine BYOLLM at the lowest price in this list, with a separate key per bot

    Strongest:
    Pricing (96/100) — the category lower bound in our chatbot-builder dataset
    From:
    $12/mo Pro at the 500-subscriber slider (monthly-billed); AI provider integrations need a paid plan, so the free plan (3 bots, 500 subscribers) excludes them

    The highest composite score on this page, ranked second, and the only all-in-one marketing platform here with genuine key ownership. SendPulse's chatbot builder lists ChatGPT, Whisper, DeepSeek, Claude, and Google Gemini in one panel under Bot settings → Integrations, and each provider has its own Enable button. You either reuse an API key saved at account level or set "a separate token for this bot", and usage then runs on your own provider account: the Strong PRO pattern in our Trigger 8 mapping (SendPulse knowledge base, re-checked 6 October 2026, and consistent with the Integrations panel captured in our review session). The per-bot key is the detail agencies will care about, because one client's bot can bill to that client's own OpenAI or Anthropic account. Two limits keep it behind Typebot: the AI integrations sit on paid plans only (Pro from $12/month), and the first-class providers are those four families, with no custom-endpoint option documented in our review. Two adjacent facts sweeten the deal: SendPulse runs MCP in both directions, a hosted server (mcp.sendpulse.com) that external AI clients act through plus an MCP servers section in the bot's own integrations panel that connects tools such as Shopify and Stripe, and the $12/month Pro tier is the cheapest functional entry in our entire catalog. For the all-in-one context (email, SMS, five chat channels, a website widget), see the SendPulse review.

    Strong fit if

    You want to connect your own OpenAI, Anthropic Claude, Google Gemini, or DeepSeek key and have usage run on your own provider account, you want a different key per bot (one per client or brand), and you want that on a $12/month all-in-one platform.

    Weak fit if

    You need a model outside those four providers as a first-class integration, or a self-hosted deployment — Typebot covers both.

  3. Best BYOLLM Chatbot Platforms 2026·#3
    Voiceflow logo

    Voiceflow

    Best for Strong-PRO BYOLLM with enterprise polish and voice

    Strongest:
    AI/NLU (88/100) — multi-LLM routing plus bi-directional MCP
    From:
    Not publicly disclosed — pricing is fully demo-gated as of our review's verification date

    Voiceflow earns the same Strong PRO BYOLLM verdict as Typebot and SendPulse: its provider dropdown surfaces GPT 5.1 Codex, Claude Sonnet 4.5, Claude Opus 4.1, and Gemini by name, plus a "Bring your own model" option that supports custom endpoints, and the vendor's own copy ("Avoid model lock-in") matches what the product does. It ranks third only because of access, not capability: pricing is fully demo-gated, which our review scores at 38/100 on the pricing dimension because a buyer cannot validate cost before committing to a sales conversation. If that friction is acceptable, the rest of the platform is the most polished in this list — voice as a first-class channel, bi-directional Model Context Protocol support, and an observability suite for evaluating model output at scale. G2 rates it 4.6/5 across 109 reviews. The full assessment, including the TrustPilot divergence worth probing, is in the Voiceflow review.

    Strong fit if

    You are an enterprise CX team or agency that wants named-model routing (GPT 5.1 Codex, Claude Sonnet 4.5, Claude Opus 4.1, Gemini) plus a custom-endpoint option, and voice is on your roadmap.

    Weak fit if

    You are a self-serve buyer — there is no public rate card, so you cannot price the platform without a sales cycle.

  4. Best BYOLLM Chatbot Platforms 2026·#4
    Botpress logo

    Botpress

    Best for native multi-LLM routing on a developer-first agent platform

    Strongest:
    Developer experience (95/100) — ADK, public CLI, typed bot logic, MCP server and client
    From:
    $189/mo Plus (monthly-billed; $150/mo annual-billed) — 250 conversations/mo with AI inference bundled

    The second-highest composite score on this page, and the one that needs the most careful reading. Botpress integrates OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, and Hugging Face natively (an agent can route different tasks to different providers in the same turn), and additional providers ship through its 200-plus integration Hub. That earns a PRO verdict rather than Strong PRO in our Trigger 8 mapping, because billing is the difference: by default, inference cost is bundled into Botpress's per-conversation AI Spend abstraction, and whether you can attach a personal API key for an arbitrary provider with zero vendor markup depends on tier and configuration. Our review's advice stands: if end-user-keyed BYOLLM is a compliance or cost requirement, confirm the specific mode with sales before assuming parity with Typebot, SendPulse, or Voiceflow. Everything else about the platform is built for exactly the team that asks this question — see the Botpress review, and the head-to-heads with Typebot and Chatbase.

    Strong fit if

    You have engineering capacity, you want OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, and Hugging Face as first-class integrations with per-task routing, and MCP interop with your agent stack matters.

    Weak fit if

    Direct provider billing is a hard requirement — confirm the end-user-keyed mode with sales first, because inference flows through Botpress's bundled AI Spend model by default.

  5. Best BYOLLM Chatbot Platforms 2026·#5
    BotPenguin logo

    BotPenguin

    Best for the cheapest vendor-billed multi-LLM selection we have verified

    Strongest:
    Pricing (79/100) — vendor-claimed zero markup on WhatsApp conversation charges
    From:
    $99/mo King (monthly-billed) for multi-LLM access; Little at $29/mo and the free tier exclude it

    BotPenguin's King tier is the cheapest verified vendor-billed multi-LLM capability in our Tier 1 batch: $99/month buys selectable access across ChatGPT/GPT-5, Anthropic Claude, Google Gemini, and Meta LLaMA, so an operator can pick which family powers each agent without managing a single key. Four model families is a broader choice than Landbot's two named providers, which is why BotPenguin ranks above it despite the higher entry price. Our review labels this BYOLLM-adjacent with deliberate precision: the underlying API calls are vendor-managed (BotPenguin pays the provider; you pay BotPenguin), and there is no documented self-serve path to plug in your own key for direct billing. Know also what the $29 Little tier and the generous free tier do not include: multi-LLM access starts at King, full stop. The counterweights from the review: a free entry you can actually evaluate on (1,000 messages/month across five channels), a vendor-claimed zero markup on WhatsApp conversation charges, and aggregator samples too thin to lean on. Evidence trail in the BotPenguin review.

    Strong fit if

    You want to pick among ChatGPT/GPT-5, Claude, Gemini, and Meta LLaMA at the platform level for under $100/month, and vendor-managed billing is acceptable.

    Weak fit if

    You need your own API key (no documented path), or vendor scale reassurance — the trust-signals dimension (50/100) reflects a thin aggregator footprint.

  6. Best BYOLLM Chatbot Platforms 2026·#6
    Landbot logo

    Landbot

    Best for named-provider transparency on a no-code conversation designer

    Strongest:
    Conversation-design UX — the cleanest visual flow builder in our Tier 1 batch, per recurring G2 themes
    From:
    €40/mo Starter (~$42, monthly-billed; web + Messenger); WhatsApp runs on a separate ladder from €80/mo

    Landbot earns a Partial verdict, the narrowest model choice on this page, and partial transparency still beats the category norm: OpenAI and Gemini are named integrations on the vendor's own pages, rare among SMB no-code builders that keep the model stack opaque. Our review scores the honest gaps (no self-serve path for arbitrary models, no MCP support, thin public RAG documentation) and flags the cost model that matters more in practice: AI Chats are metered at €1 per chat beyond plan caps (Starter 100, Pro 300, Business 1,000), so an AI-heavy deployment needs its volume modeled before signing, not after. Where Landbot repays that diligence is the craft layer: the visual builder is the cleanest we have tested for designed, guided conversations that mix deterministic rules with AI stretches, a pattern regulated industries often require. Full sub-capability matrix in the Landbot review.

    Strong fit if

    You want to know exactly which models power your bot (OpenAI and Gemini, named on vendor pages), you value hybrid AI-plus-rules flows, and your AI volume fits inside plan caps.

    Weak fit if

    You need arbitrary-model support (no Anthropic, LLaMA, or custom endpoints) or high AI volume — AI Chats meter at €1 per chat beyond tier caps of 100/300/1,000.


How we evaluated these platforms

Below this point the page shifts from the ranked picks to how the ranking was built — the comparative scoring table, a decision framework, and what BYOLLM actually changes in your cost and data model.

How the ranking was constructed

17-dimension scoring rubric (methodology v3.12.1)

Every ranked platform is scored 0–100 against the rubric below — 17 dimensions in 6 weighted clusters. Cluster weights are published; per- dimension weights inside each cluster are documented in the methodology page and the per-review POC notes sibling file. Cluster weights were rebalanced in v3.12.1 (May 2026) to bring Pricing-and-Value closer to AI/NLU parity — reflecting the SMB persona's reality where price is a primary decision driver alongside AI capability.

ClusterWeightDimensions inside the clusterWhat we measure
AI & Conversation Quality23%Bot-building experience, AI/NLU capabilities, Conversation designTime-to-first-bot, intent accuracy across locales, LLM integration depth, RAG quality, BYOLLM availability, multi-turn handling, fallback behavior
Channels, Integrations & Localization19%Channel support, Integrations + localizationMeta BSP status, channel breadth, multi-user workspace, native CRM, local payments, MCP support, per-language NLU, UI language count, admin UI quality
Platform Foundations19%Performance & reliability, Developer experience, Ecosystem & extensibility, Practical UXSLA, latency, API quality, SDKs, template marketplace, mobile experience, self-serve onboarding
Operations & Team16%Analytics & reporting, Team & collaboration, Compliance & security, Support & documentationBuilt-in metrics depth, role-based access, GDPR/SOC2/LGPD coverage, support response time, free-tier support availability, local-language docs
Pricing & Value for Money15%Pricing transparency & value (12%), Value for Money (3%, new in v3.12.1)Cheapest monthly-billed paid tier, real-cost-at-SMB-scale, overage transparency, lower-bound VfM ratio against category baseline
Trust & Market Standing8%Trust signals (5%), Partnership status (3%)Multi-locale brand search volume, G2/Capterra/TrustPilot aggregates, AI citation frequency, Meta BSP, Google/AWS/HubSpot partner, vendor age and stability
Total100% across 17 dimensions in 6 clusters

Why cluster weights, not per-dimension percentages: Cluster-level resolution is the right granularity for SMB buyers — tells you what the score means without inviting vendors to game individual dimension weights. Same practice used by G2 and Forrester.

Scoring isolation: Every Tier 1 review's editorial score is locked before any commercial relationship is evaluated. Affiliate availability never affects scoring. Documented at /methodology#editorial-policy.

Compared to industry frameworks: Same family as Forrester Wave's 25–30 weighted criteria and G2 Grid's Market-Presence/Satisfaction axes. Scoped to SMB chatbot specialists at SMB price points (Gartner Magic Quadrant covers enterprise-tier CX broadly).

Editorial scoring breakdown — comparative table

The table shows each platform's editorial score, its BYOLLM verdict under our Trigger 8 mapping, and two representative dimensions from its full review. Values are on a 0–100 scale, carried over unchanged from each Tier 1 review; this page does not recompute them. Full 17-row breakdowns sit in each linked review.

PlatformEditorial scoreBYOLLM verdict (Trigger 8)AI/NLU (15%)Developer experienceCheapest paid (monthly-billed)
Typebot70Strong PRO — own key, direct provider billing7795$39/mo (no annual option)
SendPulse86Strong PRO — own key per provider (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, DeepSeek), account-wide or per bot; paid plans8775$12/mo (Pro-500subs)
Voiceflow75Strong PRO — own key, custom endpoints8880Demo-gated (not disclosed)
Botpress81PRO — native multi-provider, bundled AI Spend billing8695$189/mo ($150 annual-billed)
BotPenguin70BYOLLM-adjacent — 4 model families, vendor-billed, King tier7770$99/mo King (for multi-LLM)
Landbot72Partial — OpenAI + Gemini named, no arbitrary models7262€40/mo (~$42)

Read the table's two deliberate inversions before choosing. SendPulse posts the highest composite score and the highest AI/NLU number here, yet ranks second, because this page ranks the BYOLLM promise itself and Typebot's reaches further: any HTTP-accessible model, on a platform you can self-host, where SendPulse's covers four named providers on paid plans. And Botpress out-scores two of the three platforms above it, but the Strong PRO verdicts outrank the PRO verdict for one buyer in particular: the team whose compliance or cost case requires the provider relationship to be theirs.

How to choose — decision framework

Three questions narrow six platforms to one.

Question 1: Do you need your key, or just a choice of models?

These are different requirements dressed in the same vocabulary. Key ownership (Typebot, SendPulse, Voiceflow) gives you direct provider billing, a provider-side data relationship you control, and the freedom to swap models the day a better one ships. Model choice (BotPenguin, Landbot — and Botpress in its default billing mode) gives you routing flexibility while the vendor holds the provider relationship. If your requirement comes from compliance language — per-model audit trails, data-residency clauses tied to a named provider — you need the first kind, and your shortlist is three platforms long. The BYOLLM glossary entry unpacks the distinction; the BYOLLM chatbot guide walks the setup and cost model step by step.

Question 2: Who is running this — a developer or an operator?

  • Developer-led, embedding in a web stack → Typebot, or Botpress if you are building agents rather than bots
  • Enterprise CX team with budget for a sales cycle → Voiceflow
  • Non-technical SMB operator who wants own-key AI inside an all-in-one → SendPulse
  • Conversation designer mixing rules and AI on a canvas → Landbot
  • Budget operator who wants model-family selection under $100 → BotPenguin

Question 3: What does your AI volume look like at list price?

BYOLLM's economic case lives or dies on volume. Run your expected monthly conversations through our LLM API cost calculator at current provider prices, then compare against each platform's bundled tier. At low volume, bundled AI (BotPenguin's King tier, Botpress's AI Spend) is often cheaper than the engineering time BYOLLM costs to operate. At high volume, direct provider billing usually wins — and metered models like Landbot's €1 per AI chat beyond caps deserve the most careful modeling of all. On SendPulse, the provider bill arrives on top of the $12/month Pro plan, so model the two together. Our chatbot pricing models guide frames the three billing shapes this decision sits inside.

What BYOLLM actually buys you — and what it costs

Cost control at volume. Bundled AI plans price inference with a margin; that is not a scandal, it is how bundling works. BYOLLM removes the margin and replaces it with your own operational burden: managing keys, rate limits, provider outages, and usage alerts. The break-even point depends on your volume and the platform's bundle price, which is why Question 3 above is a calculation, not a vibe. Estimate with provider list prices; our OpenAI API pricing calculator covers the largest provider's current rates.

A data path you can name. With your own key, conversation data flows to a provider you chose, under an agreement you signed. For teams answering security questionnaires, "we call the Anthropic API under our own enterprise terms" is a materially different sentence from "our chatbot vendor manages model access." Pair this with RAG grounding — where your knowledge base lives matters just as much as where the model runs. Our RAG chatbot guide covers that half.

Model-swap freedom, with a measured caveat. Frontier LLMs leapfrog each other every few months, and BYOLLM means switching is a dropdown, not a vendor roadmap request. Our Typebot testing put honest numbers on the trade: the same flow moved from OpenAI to Anthropic gained 5 points of citation accuracy and lost 3 points of intent accuracy. Swapping is a tuning decision, not a free upgrade — re-run your test set after every switch, and keep your system prompt under version control, because prompts tuned for one model family degrade quietly on another. The prompt engineering entry covers why.

The honest counterpoint. Most SMB deployments do not need BYOLLM. If your bot answers FAQs at modest volume and your compliance surface is a privacy policy, a bundled platform with good defaults (the four we excluded above are all strong) will cost less in total, including your time. This page exists for the teams past that point: volume that makes margins material, compliance that makes key ownership contractual, or engineering culture that treats the model as infrastructure. If that is not yet you, start from the best AI chatbot flagship ranking instead.

Frequently asked questions

What does BYOLLM mean in a chatbot platform?

BYOLLM — bring your own LLM — means the platform lets you connect your own API key from a model provider (OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, or a self-hosted endpoint), so the chatbot runs on a model you contract for directly and inference charges bill to you at provider list price. It is distinct from model choice, where a platform lets you pick among model families but holds the provider relationship and bills you itself. Our BYOLLM glossary entry covers the full distinction.

Which chatbot platform has true BYOLLM in 2026?

Three in our reviewed catalog: Typebot ($39/month Starter, self-serve) verifies as fully AI-provider-agnostic with direct provider billing; SendPulse ($12/month Pro) connects OpenAI, Anthropic Claude, Google Gemini, and DeepSeek on your own key, account-wide or per bot, with usage on your provider account; and Voiceflow (demo-gated pricing) offers named-model routing plus a custom-endpoint "bring your own model" option. Botpress comes close with native OpenAI, Anthropic, Groq, and Hugging Face integrations, but its default AI Spend model bundles inference billing; confirm the end-user-keyed mode with sales if direct billing is your requirement.

Is BYOLLM cheaper than bundled AI?

At high volume, usually; at low volume, usually not. Direct provider billing removes vendor margin but adds your own operational time for key management, rate limits, and monitoring. Run your projected volume through provider list prices (our LLM API cost calculator does this) and compare against the bundled tier you would otherwise buy. Metered plans like Landbot's €1 per AI chat beyond caps need the most careful modeling of all.

Why is SendPulse ranked second here when it scores 86/100?

Because this page ranks the BYOLLM promise, not overall platform quality, and on that promise Typebot goes one step further. SendPulse's own-key setup is genuine: OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, and DeepSeek each connect with your key under Bot settings → Integrations, account-wide or per bot, and usage runs on your provider account, at the lowest price in this list (paid plans, from $12/month). Typebot's request block reaches any HTTP-accessible model, and the platform itself can be self-hosted, which SendPulse does not offer. On composite quality SendPulse is the strongest platform on this page, which is exactly why the ranking discloses its ordering logic instead of letting the score column speak alone.

Can I self-host a BYOLLM chatbot entirely?

Typebot is the closest in our catalog: the codebase is open-source (Functional Source License) and self-hostable via Docker, so both the platform and the model relationship can live under your control. That pairing — self-hosted platform, own-key model — is the maximum-control configuration short of building from scratch. See the best open-source chatbot ranking for the wider self-hosting field.

Do any of these platforms support MCP alongside BYOLLM?

Three ship Model Context Protocol support, all in both directions: Botpress (server and client), Voiceflow (bi-directional per its review), and SendPulse (a hosted server at mcp.sendpulse.com that external AI clients act through, plus an MCP servers section in the bot's integrations panel that connects tools such as Shopify and Stripe). MCP and BYOLLM solve adjacent problems: one standardizes how agents reach tools and data, the other controls which model runs and who bills for it. The MCP glossary entry covers where the protocol fits.

About this guide

Chatbotscape launched in 2026 as an independent review site. A new publication cannot claim the accumulated authority of established analyst firms, so our response is to publish methodology openly at /methodology, pull every score directly from a full platform review rather than inventing rankings, and link each pick to its audit trail. BYOLLM claims in particular attract marketing inflation, which is why every verdict on this page traces to a review that tested or verified the claim rather than quoting a feature grid. We invite reader feedback at editorial@chatbotscape.com and document material corrections in version history. See our editorial team page for who we are.

Head-to-head comparisons:

More best-list rankings:

Glossary and guides:

Methodology

Rankings reflect Chatbotscape's evaluation of the 2026 SMB chatbot catalog against our 17-dimension scoring rubric; per-platform testing depth is documented in each review's POC notes and evidence ledger. BYOLLM verdicts follow the Trigger 8 mapping (Strong PRO / PRO / Partial) defined in our scoring rubric and verified per review. Pricing follows the cheapest monthly-billed paid tier per our pricing methodology, carried from each review's vendor-verified ledger.

Last updated

6 October 2026 — SendPulse moved from fourth to second (Strong PRO) and BotPenguin above Landbot, because SendPulse's own-key setup for OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, and DeepSeek (account-level or per-bot key, paid plans) was re-checked against its knowledge base on 6 October 2026, and BotPenguin's four model families are a broader choice than Landbot's two named providers.

11 July 2026 — Initial publication aligned to methodology v3.12. Scores carried over from each platform's Tier 1 review; next scheduled refresh: 11 October 2026.